JioMart, Reliance Retail's online marketplace, charges sellers on each completed order and nothing before that. As of September 2026 its seller FAQ names four fee components and tells you to open Profile > Bill Plan in Seller Central to see your own rates; it publishes no public rate card. This guide explains each component, what third-party rate tables show for commission by category and price band, how shipping and GST work, when JioMart pays, and a worked example for a Rs 599 product. If you are not yet registered, read our how to sell on JioMart guide first.
JioMart fees guide
JioMart Seller Fees Explained (2026): Commission, Fixed Fee, Shipping, GST and Payment Cycle
By Blooprint team ยท Published 24 September 2026 ยท 9 min read
Key takeaways
- JioMart's own FAQ names four fee components, commission, fixed fee, collection fee and shipping fee, and sends every seller to Profile > Bill Plan for the numbers.
- Third-party rate tables show low commissions by price band, about 2% to 8% for grocery, staples and kitchenware and up to 10% to 15% for fashion, plus a Rs 10 to Rs 50 fixed fee.
- Shipping through JioMart's logistics partners is charged by weight and zone; sellers can self-ship, and 18% GST applies to every fee line.
- Agency guides report payout 9 days after delivery; the worked Rs 599 kitchenware example nets about Rs 483 before ads.
Official portals
- JioMart Seller Central โ seller.jiomart.com/
- JioMart seller FAQ โ seller.jiomart.com/sell_on_jio/faq
In this guide
- What fees does JioMart charge sellers?
- What is JioMart's commission by category?
- What are the fixed fee and collection fee?
- How does JioMart charge for shipping?
- Which taxes come off a JioMart payout?
- When does JioMart pay sellers?
- Worked example: a Rs 599 kitchen tool
- How do JioMart fees compare with Amazon and Flipkart?
- How do you keep JioMart fees under control?
- FAQ
- Getting your JioMart economics right
What fees does JioMart charge sellers?
JioMart's FAQ is precise about the structure and silent on the numbers. It says: "Our fee structure includes Commission Fees, Fixed Fees, Collection Fees, and Shipping Fees. Please refer to Profile > Bill Plan page for more details." It also confirms that "product listing on JioMart is free" and that the deductions from your payment are "fees as defined in Fee Structure", "TCS, TDS and other taxes as applicable" and "other recoverables as provided in seller ledger". So the model is the familiar Indian marketplace one:
- Commission fee, a percentage of the item price that depends on category and price band.
- Fixed fee, a flat rupee charge per order item, sometimes called a closing fee.
- Collection fee, a percentage for handling the customer's payment.
- Shipping fee, charged when JioMart's logistics partner picks up and delivers, based on weight and distance.
- GST at 18% on all of the above, because they are services supplied to you.
Registration and listing are free. There is no monthly subscription and no charge until an order is delivered.
What is JioMart's commission by category?
JioMart does not publish a category table. Two kinds of third-party sources exist. Ecomsprint reproduced a price-band rate card in 2023 that is unusually detailed and looks like a copy of the Bill Plan format; Novel Web Creation gives 2026 category ranges. They are shown side by side below:
| Category | Price-band rates (Ecomsprint, 2023) | 2026 range (agency guides) |
|---|---|---|
| Grocery and staples (e.g. almonds) | 2% up to Rs 300; 3% above Rs 300 | 3% to 6% |
| Home and kitchen (e.g. cookware) | 2% up to Rs 500; 5% for Rs 501 to Rs 1,000; 6% above Rs 1,000 | 6% to 12% |
| Personal care (e.g. sports nutrition) | 3% up to Rs 300; 7% for Rs 301 to Rs 1,000; 8% above Rs 1,000 | 8% to 12% |
| Electronics and accessories | Not listed | 5% to 10% |
| Fashion and apparel | Not listed | 10% to 15% |
| All categories | Not published (JioMart, official) | |
Three things stand out. First, JioMart's commissions are lower than Amazon's or Flipkart's in the same categories, which is consistent with its origin as a grocery platform competing on price. Second, the rates step up by price band: the same kitchen SKU pays 2% at Rs 299 and 5% at Rs 599. Third, the 2026 ranges are higher than the 2023 table in every category, which either reflects revisions or a difference in what the sources counted. Until you see your Bill Plan, use the 2026 ranges for planning and the 2023 table to understand the price-band mechanics.
What are the fixed fee and collection fee?
The fixed fee is a flat amount per order item. Agency guides quote Rs 10 to Rs 50 depending on order value, which matches how Flipkart and Amazon band their closing fees. The collection fee is a percentage of the amount the customer pays. One 2026 source reports it at 0.0% at the time of writing, while others describe a payment-processing charge of "around 2%". These cannot both be right for the same account, so check the collection line in your Bill Plan; if it is zero, JioMart is currently absorbing payment costs and your effective rate is a few points better than the comparison tables suggest.
How does JioMart charge for shipping?
JioMart's FAQ says it has "partnered with 3rd party logistics service providers who will pick orders from your warehouse and deliver to customer directly". The fee for that service is set by package weight and by shipping zone (local, regional or national), and some guides add delivery speed. JioMart does not publish the table. For planning, a sub-500 g parcel within the same region typically lands in the Rs 30 to Rs 60 range on comparable Indian marketplaces, and national shipments cost roughly double; treat that as scale, not a JioMart figure.
You can self-ship instead of using JioMart's partners. That removes the shipping fee line but you then carry your own courier cost, pickup scheduling and tracking updates, and JioMart's delivery-time commitments still apply to you. Most small sellers stay on JioMart logistics; brands with an existing courier contract and volume across several marketplaces often self-ship to control cost.
Returns work the same way as elsewhere: if the customer returns the item, reverse shipping is normally charged to the seller unless the return is due to a logistics fault. The rupee figure is not published.
Which taxes come off a JioMart payout?
Three separate items appear on the settlement, and only one of them is JioMart's income.
- GST on fees. 18% on commission, fixed fee, collection fee and shipping. GST-registered sellers claim this back as input tax credit.
- TCS under GST. JioMart, as an e-commerce operator, collects tax at source at 0.5% of net taxable sales (reduced from 1% in July 2024) and deposits it against your GSTIN. It appears as a credit in your GST portal.
- TDS under section 194-O. 0.1% of gross sales (reduced from 1% in October 2024), credited against your income tax.
JioMart's FAQ lists these explicitly as deductions "under the CGST Act, 2017 and the Income Tax Act 1961". Sellers who ignore them under-reconcile by about 0.6% every month and then wonder why the bank credit is short.
When does JioMart pay sellers?
JioMart's public FAQ does not state a settlement cycle. Agency guides for 2026 consistently report that payment is made 9 days after the customer delivery date for successful orders, with returns and cancellations adjusted in a later cycle. That is in line with Flipkart's "as fast as 7 days" and faster than Amazon's standard cycle for new sellers. Confirm the figure on your own Bill Plan page and in the payments section of Seller Central, and remember the clock starts at delivery, not at dispatch; a slow national shipment adds days before the 9-day count begins.
Worked example: a Rs 599 kitchen tool
Assumptions, clearly labelled:
- Selling price Rs 599, home and kitchen category.
- Commission 5%, the Rs 501 to Rs 1,000 band in the Ecomsprint table; not an official current rate.
- Fixed fee assumed at Rs 20; collection fee assumed at 0% per the 2026 report.
- Shipped through JioMart's partner, 450 g, regional; fee assumed at Rs 45.
- GST 18% on fees; TCS 0.5% and TDS 0.1% on the sale value.
- Prepaid, delivered, not returned; ads excluded.
| Line | Amount | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Commission | Rs 29.95 | 5% of Rs 599 (assumed) |
| Fixed fee | Rs 20.00 | Assumed, within the Rs 10 to Rs 50 range |
| Collection fee | Rs 0.00 | Reported 0% (check your Bill Plan) |
| Shipping | Rs 45.00 | Assumed regional, under 500 g |
| GST on fees | Rs 17.09 | 18% of Rs 94.95 |
| TCS and TDS | Rs 3.59 | 0.6% of Rs 599, recoverable |
| Total deductions | Rs 115.63 | About 19% of selling price |
| Payout | Rs 483.37 | Before ads and before GST and tax credits |
Recover the Rs 17.09 of GST and the Rs 3.59 of TCS and TDS and the true channel cost is about 16%. Price the same tool at Rs 299 and the commission drops to 2%, but the fixed fee and shipping stay put, so the fee percentage goes up, not down. On JioMart the flat charges matter more than the commission for anything under Rs 500, which is exactly the price band where most grocery and household items sit.
How do JioMart fees compare with Amazon and Flipkart?
On commission JioMart is the cheapest of the three for grocery, household and personal care: single digits by price band against Amazon's category rates and Flipkart's 0% under Rs 1,000 but category rates above it. On flat charges the picture is more even. JioMart's fixed fee range of Rs 10 to Rs 50 sits alongside Amazon's closing fee bands and Flipkart's tier-based fixed fee, and all three charge shipping by weight and zone plus 18% GST. Where JioMart wins is on items above Rs 1,000 in non-fashion categories, where Flipkart's commission kicks in and JioMart's stays in single digits. Where it loses is reach: JioMart's traffic is grocery-led, so a home appliance or a fashion SKU may pay a lower fee and sell fewer units. Our Flipkart fees guide and Amazon India fees guide give the other two structures in full.
How do you keep JioMart fees under control?
- Screenshot your Bill Plan the day you go live and again after every revision email; the FAQ makes clear it is the only binding fee source.
- Price to the band. If a SKU sits just above a band edge, test whether a lower price with lower commission sells more units.
- Reduce dead weight. Shipping is by weight slab, and a lighter outer carton can move a SKU down a slab.
- Reconcile each settlement against orders, and file TCS and TDS credits every month.
- Watch the 9-day clock: late dispatch delays delivery, and delivery starts the payment count.
Blooprint's quick commerce account management service covers JioMart alongside Blinkit, Zepto and Instamart, so brands selling grocery, household and personal care get one team reading all four fee structures and one monthly reconciliation.
FAQ
What is JioMart's commission rate? Not published. JioMart's FAQ says commission depends on category and directs sellers to Profile > Bill Plan. Third-party tables show roughly 2% to 8% for grocery, staples and kitchenware by price band, and 10% to 15% for fashion.
Is there a fee to register or list on JioMart? No. Registration and listing are free, and fees apply only when an order is delivered.
Who pays shipping on JioMart? The seller. If JioMart's logistics partner handles the order, a weight-and-zone shipping fee is deducted; if you self-ship, you pay your own courier.
When does JioMart pay? Agency guides report 9 days after the customer delivery date. JioMart's public FAQ does not state a cycle, so confirm it in Seller Central.
Is GST charged on JioMart fees? Yes, 18% on every fee line, claimable as input tax credit. JioMart also deducts TCS at 0.5% and TDS at 0.1% on sales, both of which come back as tax credits.
Can I sell on JioMart without GST? Only for GST-exempt goods. For taxable products JioMart requires a GSTIN, and TCS is collected against it.
Getting your JioMart economics right
JioMart's public pages give you the structure, not the numbers. The numbers sit in your Bill Plan and your seller ledger, and they change by category, price band and revision. If you want an ex-Flipkart team to read your Bill Plan, model margins by price band and weight slab, and reconcile every payout including TCS and TDS, see our quick commerce account management service.
How we help sellers with this
Related guides
Want this handled for you?
Blooprint Automation runs marketplace accounts for brands across India. Book a free audit and we will tell you what to fix first.
Sources
- https://seller.jiomart.com/
- https://seller.jiomart.com/sell_on_jio/faq
- https://ecomsprint.com/jiomart-seller-commission-fees-category-wise/
- https://www.novelwebcreation.com/blog/jiomart-seller-commission-charges-and-fees/
- https://sellingos.com/understanding-jiomart-seller-policies-and-guidelines-2026/
- https://unicommerce.com/blog/your-slug-jiomart-seller-registration-how-to-sell-on-jiomart/