Flipkart fees guide

Flipkart Seller Fees Explained (2026): Commission, Fixed Fee, Shipping, Collection Fee and Penalties

By the Blooprint Automation team · Published 18 September 2026 · 7 min read

Flipkart charges sellers a handful of fees on every order. As of 18 September 2026, the headline rule is simple: commission is 0% on any product priced below Rs 1,000 in any category, and 0% on all fashion products at any price. Above Rs 1,000 in non-fashion categories, a category commission applies. On top of commission there is a fixed fee per item, a shipping fee based on weight and distance, a collection fee on cash-on-delivery orders, and GST on all of these. Since 23 August 2026 there are also flat penalties for late dispatch and cancellations.

Figures come from Flipkart's own pages where published; press and industry figures are marked as such. Fee schedule checked on 18 September 2026.

The fee components on Flipkart

Flipkart's seller blog lists five marketplace fee components:

  1. Commission fee, a percentage of the selling price that depends on category.
  2. Shipping fee, based on product weight and whether the delivery is local, zonal or national.
  3. Fixed fee, a per-item charge that depends on your seller tier and fulfilment type(FBF or non-FBF).
  4. Collection fee, charged on cash-on-delivery orders as a percentage of order value.
  5. GST on the marketplace fee.

Listing is free; Flipkart charges only "upon a successful sale". Fees are deducted before payout. The full rate card is not public; Flipkart tells sellers to "create your seller account to view it on the seller dashboard". That is why most numbers on third-party blogs are estimates.

Commission by category

Flipkart does not publish a category-by-category commission list on its public pages. What it does publish is this:

Situation Commission
Any category, selling price below Rs 1,000 0%
Fashion category, any selling price 0%
Shopsy(Flipkart's value marketplace), all verticals 0%
Non-fashion categories, Rs 1,000 and above Category rate, shown in your dashboard

For non-fashion items above Rs 1,000, Medianama reported that rates "range between 3% and 25%". Older industry blogs quote 2.8% to 25%. We could not find an official category table, so treat any specific percentage for electronics, home, beauty or books as unverified until you see it in your own rate card.

One useful official detail: commission is "completely consistent" for FBF and non-FBF orders. Choosing Flipkart fulfilment changes your shipping and fixed fees, not your commission.

Fixed fee by price band and seller tier

Flipkart calls the fixed fee the "closing fee" and sets it by seller tier under its Darwin tiering programme. The official table reads:

Darwin tier Fixed fee
Platinum Base Rate minus Rs 15, up to Rs 30
Gold Base Rate
Silver Base Rate
Bronze Base Rate plus Rs 10

The Base Rate is not published and "certain categories may be excluded". It varies by price band and fulfilment type. For scale only: before the May 2024 rate card, Inc42 reported Rs 14(FBF) or Rs 16(non-FBF) on a Rs 300 item and Rs 50 or Rs 55 above Rs 1,000. A 2026 blog quotes Rs 24 for Rs 500 to Rs 1,000 and Rs 47 above Rs 1,000. Your dashboard rate card is the only reliable source.

Every new seller starts at Bronze, which carries the Rs 10 surcharge. Silver needs Rs 30 lakh or 4,000 units in 90 days, cancellations under 0.50% and ready-to-dispatch breaches under 1.40%. Gold needs Rs 50 lakh or 6,000 units in 90 days, cancellations under 0.15% and RTD breaches under 1%.

Collection fee

The collection fee applies to cash-on-delivery orders. Flipkart describes it as "a percentage of the order value" that "varies based on the product's price range". Prepaid orders do not attract it. Percentages are not published; a 2023 industry blog put the range at 2% to 15%. If most of your orders are COD, check this line in your rate card before you price.

Shipping fees and seller tiers

Shipping fees depend on weight and on where the order goes. Flipkart splits deliveries into local, zonal and national. The one published rule is that "Flipkart offers free local and zonal shipping for products under 500 grams". This dates from the 18 May 2024 rate card, when Flipkart said a surcharge "will be applicable for national shipping and categories exceeding the 500 gm weight mark".

Rupee amounts for heavier or national shipments are not published. Reverse shipping on returns is also charged; Flipkart said in November 2025 it had "reduced return fees" for sub-Rs 1,000 products, without figures. Fulfilment by Flipkart(FBF) replaces standard shipping with "relevant FBF fees", also not public.

Fees for fashion after the 2026 change

On 8 July 2026 Flipkart removed the Rs 1,000 price cap on zero commission for fashion. Around 90,000 active fashion sellers now pay no commission at any price point.

Zero commission is not zero fees. Fashion sellers still pay the fixed fee, shipping, the collection fee on COD orders, return shipping, and GST on all of these. Fashion has high return rates, so reverse shipping often costs more than commission ever did. Check your effective fee percentage on real orders rather than assuming it fell to nil.

Penalties from August 2026

Flipkart introduced a three-tier penalty structure effective 23 August 2026:

  • Rs 30 per shipment if the order is not ready for pickup by the committed Dispatch By Date(DBD).
  • Rs 60 per shipment if the seller cancels, or the order auto-cancels after three missed dispatch deadlines.
  • Rs 90 per shipment if the order is both delayed and then cancelled.

New sellers are exempt for their first three months. Previously a DBD breach could get an account locked; the flat charges replace that. Flipkart also rewards good DBD compliance with faster settlement and advertising credits. Whether GST is added to these penalties was not stated in the reports we read.

GST on fees

Flipkart adds GST to its marketplace fees. Flipkart does not state the rate on its public pages. Marketplace and logistics services in India are taxed at 18% under GST, and PTI's August 2026 report confirms Amazon applies "an 18 per cent goods and services tax" on comparable seller fees. If you are GST-registered, which Flipkart requires for taxable goods, you can claim this as input tax credit, so the cash cost is temporary rather than permanent.

Worked example: a Rs 799 product

Assumptions, clearly labelled:

  • Selling price Rs 799, non-fashion category(say a kitchen tool).
  • Weight 400 g, delivered locally.
  • Prepaid order, so no collection fee.
  • Seller is Bronze tier. The Base Rate for this price band is not public; we assume Rs 20 for illustration only.
  • GST at 18% on fees(general rule, see above).
Fee Amount Basis
Commission Rs 0 Under Rs 1,000, 0%
Fixed fee Rs 30 Assumed Base Rate Rs 20 plus Bronze Rs 10 (structure is Flipkart's, base rate assumed)
Shipping Rs 0 Under 500 g, local
Collection fee Rs 0 Prepaid order
GST on fees Rs 5.40 18% of Rs 30 (assumed rate)
Total deductions Rs 35.40
Payout Rs 763.60

Change one assumption and the picture shifts. Ship nationally and a shipping fee applies. Make it COD and the collection fee applies. Price above Rs 1,000 and commission kicks in. Miss the dispatch date and Rs 30 comes off. An average "Flipkart takes X%" figure is misleading; the real number depends on price band, weight, zone, payment mode and tier.

How to use Flipkart's calculator

Flipkart has no public fee calculator. The tool it describes sits inside the seller dashboard, where you enter a listing price and see commission, shipping, fixed fee, collection fee and GST for your category and tier. Steps:

  1. Log in to Seller Hub and open the rate card for your category.
  2. Enter your planned listing price, product weight, and whether you use FBF.
  3. Run the same product at local, zonal and national, and at prepaid and COD.
  4. Subtract cost of goods and packaging from the payout to get your real margin.
  5. Repeat after every rate card email from Flipkart.

Third-party calculators use estimated rates and go stale. Use them for rough planning only.

FAQ

What is Flipkart's commission rate? 0% on anything under Rs 1,000 and on all fashion. For other categories above Rs 1,000 the rate is set per category and shown in your dashboard. Press reports put the range at 3% to 25%.

Does Flipkart charge a fee to list products? No. Listing is free; fees apply only when an item sells.

When does Flipkart pay sellers? Flipkart says "as fast as 3 days" from pickup on its fees page and "as fast as 7 days" on its FAQ, and that the schedule is "seller tier dependent". Higher tiers and good dispatch compliance get faster settlement. No official per-tier day count is published.

Is GST charged on Flipkart fees? Yes, GST is added to the marketplace fees. The rate is not stated by Flipkart; 18% is the standard rate on such services and can be claimed as input credit by GST-registered sellers.

Getting your fees right

Flipkart's public pages give you the structure, not the numbers. The numbers sit in your rate card and change with your tier, your category and Flipkart's revisions, three of which landed between November 2025 and August 2026. If you want someone to read your rate card, model margins by price band and zone, and keep dispatch compliance clean so penalties and Bronze surcharges do not eat your payout, see our Flipkart account management service at /services/flipkart-account-management/. Our team includes former Flipkart staff who have worked with these rate cards from the inside.

Want this handled for you?

Blooprint Automation runs marketplace accounts for brands across India. Book a free audit and we will tell you what to fix first.

See Flipkart account management
Sources

Fees, policies and platform features change often. Facts checked 18 September 2026.

Want this handled for you?

Book a free 30-minute call. We audit your account and tell you exactly what we would fix first.

Book a Free Demo